About the Library

Qatar National Library (QNL) is pleased to welcome you to its website!

Qatar National Library (QNL), a member of the Qatar Foundation for Education, Science, and Community Development, acts as a steward of Qatar’s national heritage by collecting, preserving and making available the country’s recorded history. In its role as a research library with a preeminent heritage library, QNL fosters and promotes greater global insight into the history and culture of the Gulf region. As a public library, QNL provides equal access for all Qatari residents to an environment that supports creativity, independent decision-making, and cultural development. Through all its functions, QNL provides leadership to the country’s library and cultural heritage sector.

QNL also supports Qatar’s transition from a reliance on natural resources to become a diversified and sustainable economy by providing support to students, researchers, and the public to promote life-long learning and empower individuals and communities for a better future. 

In addition to full-text online resources, QNL currently has around one million books in its collections, more than 500,000 ebooks, periodicals and newspapers, and special collections. The renowned Heritage Library was integrated with the library in the summer of 2011. Our qualified librarians are experts in teaching, research skills, literacy, programs, and knowledge management. Combining all these skills together with QNL’s strong service ethic, the Library offers many activities and opportunities for the local community to do, learn, and discover.

The QNL project was announced on 19 November 2012 by Her Highness Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, Chairperson of Qatar Foundation.

نبذة عن المكتبة

يسر مكتبة قطر الوطنية أن ترحب بكم على صفحات موقعها الإلكتروني!

 تضطلع مكتبة قطر الوطنية، عضو مؤسسة قطر للتربية والعلوم وتنمية المجتمع، بمسؤولية الحفاظ على التراث الوطني لدولة قطر من خلال جمع التراث والتاريخ المكتوب الخاص بالدولة والمحافظة عليه وإتاحته للجميع. ومن خلال وظيفتها كمكتبة بحثية لديها مكتبة تراثية متميزة، تقوم المكتبة بنشر وتعزيز رؤية عالمية أعمق لتاريخ وثقافة منطقة الخليج. وانطلاقًا من وظيفتها كمكتبة عامة، تتيح مكتبة قطر الوطنية لجميع المواطنين والمقيمين في دولة قطر فرصًا متكافئة للاستفادة من مرافقها وتجهيزاتها وخدماتها التي تدعم الإبداع والاستقلال في اتخاذ القرار لدى روادها وتنمية معارفهم الثقافية. ومن خلال نهوضها بكل هذه الوظائف تتبوأ المكتبة دورًا رياديًا في قطاع المكتبات والتراث الثقافي في الدولة. 

وتدعم مكتبة قطر الوطنية مسيرة دولة قطر في الانتقال من الاعتماد على الموارد الطبيعية إلى تنويع مصادر الاقتصاد والحفاظ على استدامته، وذلك من خلال إتاحة المصادر المعرفية اللازمة للطلبة والباحثين وكل من يعيش على أرض دولة قطر على حدٍ سواء لتعزيز فرص التعلُّم مدى الحياة، وتمكين الأفراد والمجتمع، والمساهمة في توفير مستقبل أفضل للجميع.

وبالإضافة إلى المصادر الإلكترونية التي تحتوي نصوصًا كاملة، يوجد حوالي مليون كتاب مطبوع حاليًا في مجموعات المكتبة وأكثر من 500 ألف كتاب إلكتروني ودورية وصحيفة وغيرها من المواد، فضلًا عن المجموعات الخاصة. هذا وقد تم دمج المكتبة التراثية الشهيرة مع مكتبتنا في صيف عام 2011. وبالإضافة إلى ما سبق ذكره، يتميز فريق العمل في المكتبة بأنهم من أصحاب الخبرة في التدريس ومهارات البحث العلمي والتوعية المعلوماتية والبرامج وإدارة المعرفة، ومن خلال ضم خبرتهم للمثل والقيم التي تنتهجها مكتبة قطر الوطنية في تقديم الخدمات المعرفية، سيكون بمقدور جميع أفراد المجتمع في قطر الاستفادة من الكثير من الفرص والأنشطة التعليمية والتثقيفية.

وقد تفضلت صاحبة السمو الشيخة موزا بنت ناصر، رئيس مجلس إدارة مؤسسة قطر، بالإعلان عن مشروع مكتبة قطر الوطنية في 19 نوفمبر 2012.