Conservation and Preservation Services

preservation

All materials used in books and manuscripts are in danger as they are exposed to internal and external causes of deterioration. Moreover, most recent documents (e.g. modern books, audiovisual materials... etc.) are even more fragile than older ones.  

Qatar National Library (QNL), a member of Qatar Foundation for Education, Science and Community Development (QF), specifically highlights in its mission statement the importance of preserving cultural heritage.

Qatar National Library offers the expertise of a fully trained international team and laboratories are equipeed with most recent techniques and mashines, to handle any kind of activities in the following areas:

  • Preventive conservation section
  • Bio deterioration analysis and treatment section
  • Conservation section
  • Materials analysis to support conservation actions as well as codicological studies

 

Preventive Conservation

 

Preventive Conservation

Regular monitoring of all relevant information about the environmental condition is one of the first steps in the implementation of preventive conservation strategy.

At QNL, we carefully monitor the temperature and the relative humidity in several ways. These data are retrieved by a computer in order to get a periodic view of the climatic condition of the air quality in all of the storage rooms and showcases.

Bio-Deterioration Analysis and Treatment

 

Biodeterioration

Mold spores, bacteria and insect eggs are always in the air and the dust, around us; in variable quantities in both clean and dirty environments. So it’s very important a regular monitoring that can allows us to detect biological infestation in advance and helps us take appropriate intervention measures.

The QNL Preservation and Conservation Center is well equipped with modern devices that allow personnel to check and manage factors related to the causes of bio deterioration.

The quality of the air and the environment is regularly checked with regards to bio-contamination. This consists of checking the amount of mold spores in the air and determining the acceptable quantity of spores. An increase in this quantity indicates a change in air quality in respect to the risk of mold development.

Same care is reserved to the contamination that can come by contact. In order to do this, bioluminescence tests are used to check for bio-contamination related to the surfaces.

Conservation

 

Conservation

The staff of the conservation laboratory are fully trained and have advanced skills in various fields such as map conservation, paper and parchment conservation and bookbinding conservation. Each decision they take is carefully considered and supported by the analysis of the material of the documents as well as the quality of the modern products used for conservation treatments. 

Preservation and conservation processes have developed over time and are now a worldwide task for libraries. There are mainly two kinds of deterioration that conservators have to face:

Internal Deterioration
The natural deterioration process of paper and of some inks is a slow but quite irreversible process. Paper, particularly paper produced since the 19th century, yellows and becomes very brittle. Some manuscript inks can cause paper and parchment to disintegrate making the text unreadable.

External Deterioration
Bad environmental conditions such as high temperatures, high but also very low humidity, and fluctuations in both, as well as excessive light exposure, are damaging to paper and leather bindings. Also rodents, insects, molds, and bacteria can cause documents to deteriorate very rapidly. Disasters such as floods, fires, and earthquakes can dramatically endanger collections. However, we shouldn’t underestimate the potential for slow degradation of collections caused by bad handling and inappropriate repairs.

You or your family may have some old books and documents that you wish to preserve for future generations. Here is some quick advice: never use adhesive tape, remove dust periodically and do so gently, and make sure to store your documents in an air conditioned room in a place with low risk of water leakage.

Material Analysis

 

Material Analysis

The QNL Preservation and Conservation Unit is equipped with a state-of-the-art conservation laboratory which can analyze the quality of the material of the documents.

Using non-destructive, non-invasive modern analysis techniques, information related to the material aspects of books becomes more accessible. This information is very useful to enforce preservation strategies, support conservation decision and increase knowledge related to codicological studies.

IFLA PAC Regional Center for Arab Countries

IFLA PAC Logo

The IFLA Strategic Programme on Preservation and Conservation (PAC) was officially created during the IFLA annual conference in Nairobi in 1984 to focus efforts on issues of preservation and initiate worldwide cooperation for the preservation of library materials.

In line with its mission, since 2015, the QNL's conservation laboratory is the IFLA/PAC (Preservation and Conservation) Regional Center for the Arab Countries and the Middle East, stressing the importance of international cooperation in this field. As a PAC Center, QNL offers the expertise of a fully trained international team and conservation facilities.

Our objective is to create a professional network of collaborative assistance to improve the strategy of preservation and conservation in the Arab countries and in the region in general. Our IFLA/PAC regional center's role is to support the Arab libraries through a series of activities and initiatives to promote, disseminate and improve the practices in preservation and conservation.

This includes:

•    creating an international network to share information and knowledge
•    supporting and assisting Arab libraries in conservation issues
•    producing and publishing information materials (in Arabic and English)
•    developing better disaster plan information
•    organizing courses, workshops and meetings
•    translating into Arabic IFLA's guidelines and documents related to preservation and conservation

Resources

Here are some documents and materials related to preservation and conservation:

Publications

Videos

Contact the IFLA PAC Center at QNL

For further information, especially if you are in one of the countries that are covered by our PAC regional center and you are interested in our activities, please do not hesitate to contact:

Stephane IPERT
Preservation and Conservation Manager,
Qatar National Library

Tel: +974 4454 8147
PO Box: 5825, Doha – Qatar
Email[email protected]

Seek Advice from a QNL Conservator

Click on the link below to seek advice from a QNL conservator in preserving or conserving your heritage material:

Seek Advice

خدمات الحفظ والصيانة

preservationتصبح حالة جميع المواد المستخدمة في الكتب والمخطوطات، عرضة للخطر عندما تتعرض لعوامل تلف داخلية وخارجية، بل إن معظم الوثائق التي صدرت مؤخرًا (مثل الكتب الصادرة حديثاً، والمواد الصوتية البصرية، وما إلى ذلك) أكثر عُرضة للتلف من الوثائق القديمة. 

تُشكِّل المحافظة على التراث لأجيال المستقبل جزءاً رئيسياً من رسالة مكتبة قطر الوطنية، عضو مؤسسة قطر للتربية والعلوم وتنمية المجتمع.

وتتيح مكتبة قطر الوطنية خبرات فريقها من الخُبراء الدوليين الذين حصلوا على أعلى مستويات التدريب وإمكانيات معاملها المزودة بأحدث الأجهزة والتقنيات والمُعدات من أجل التعامل مع أي متطلبات أو مهام تتعلق بصيانة المواد والمحافظة عليها في المجالات التالية:

  • الصيانة الوقائية
  • تحليل التدهور الحيوي والمعالجة
  • الصيانة
  • تحليل المواد لدعم اتخاذ القرارات الخاصة بالصيانة وكذلك دراسات المواد المخطوطة
     

الصيانة الوقائية

 

Preventive Conservation

يُعدّ الرصد المنتظم لجميع المعلومات المتعلقة بالظروف البيئية أولى خطوات تنفيذ استراتيجية الصيانة الوقائية.

نُراقب في مكتبة قطر الوطنية بحرص شديد درجات الحرارة والرطوبة النسبية بوسائل متعدّدة. ويتم معالجة هذه البيانات بواسطة الحاسوب للحصول على سجل دوري لجودة الهواء في جميع غرف التخزين وخزائن العرض.

تحليل وعلاج التدهور الحيوي للمواد

 

Biodeterioration

جراثيم العفن والبكتيريا وبيض الحشرات موجودة دائمًا في الهواء، بكميات مختلفة، في البيئات النظيفة وغير النظيفة، وبالتالي فإن الرصد المنتظم والمستمر لجميع المعلومات المتعلقة بالظروف البيئية في المكتبة يُعدّ أولى خطوات تنفيذ استراتيجية صيانة المواد والمحافظة عليها، ويُمَكِّنُنا من اكتشاف أي وباء بيولوجي مقدماً، ومن ثم اتخاذ إجراءات التدخل الملائمة.

تم تجهيز مركز الحفظ والصيانة بمكتبة قطر الوطنية بأحدث الأجهزة التي تُمَكِّنُه من التحكم بالعوامل البيئية التي قد تتسبب في التدهور الحيوي لمواد المكتبة والتعامل معها.

يُراقب خبراء الحفظ والصيانة بمكتبة قطر الوطنية بصورة مستمرة وبحرص شديد جودة الهواء والبيئة المحيطة بالمواد لاكتشاف أي علامات لبداية وجود تلوث حيوي. ويشمل ذلك فحص جراثيم العفن في الهواء المحيط، وهو ما يُمَكِّنُهم من تحديد المستوى المقبول لكمية جراثيم التعفن الموجودة في البيئة المحيطة بمواد المكتبة. ووجود علامات على زيادة هذه الجراثيم في الهواء يكون مؤشراً على تغير جودته ووجود مخاطر تطور العفن في البيئة المحيطة بمواد المكتبة.

كما يبذل خبراؤنا نفس الحرص فيما يتعلق بإمكانية حدوث التلوث الحيوي الناتج عن "اللمس". ولتجنب حدوث ذلك، يقوم أخصائيو الحفظ والصيانة باستخدام اختبارات "التلألؤ البيولوجي" لفحص ما إذا كان هناك أي مشاكل تلوث حيوي متعلقة بالأسطح المحيطة.

صيانة المواد

 

Conservation

الخبراء والمتخصصون في مختبر الحفظ والصيانة بمكتبة قطر الوطنية على أعلى مستوى من التدريب، كما يتمتعون بمهارات متطورة في مجالات مختلفة مثل صيانة الخرائط والورق والمخطوطات والتجليد. ويخضع كل قرار يتخذه هؤلاء المختصون لدراسة متأنية، ويعتمد على تحليل المواد الوثائق والمستندات بالإضافة إلى المستوى المتطور للأجهزة الحديثة المستخدمة في عملية المحافظة على المواد وصيانتها.

تطورت عمليات صيانة مواد المكتبات والمحافظة عليها مع مرور الزمن وغدت اليوم إحدى مهام المكتبات في جميع أنحاء العالم. وهناك نوعان رئيسيان من التلف يواجهان أخصائيي الصيانة والمحافظة على المواد في المكتبات، هما:

التلف الداخلي
تتّصف الآلية الطبيعية لتلف الورق وبعض الأحبار بالبطء، ولكن مسارها لا رجعة فيه أبدًا. ويتحول الورق، لاسيما الذي يعود للقرن التاسع عشر، إلى اللون الأصفر ويصبح قابلًا جدًا للتفتت. وقد تتسبّب بعض أحبار المخطوطات بتحلل الورق والرّق، مما يجعل النصّ غير قابل للقراءة.

التلف الخارجي
تتضرر أغلفة الورق والجلد بسبب الظروف البيئية السيئة، مثل درجات الحرارة المرتفعة والرطوبة العالية وكذلك المنخفضة جداً وتقلباتها جميعاً، إضافةً إلى التعرُض للضوء الشديد. كما تتسبّب القوارض والحشرات والعفونة والبكتيريا بتلف سريع جدًا للوثائق. وتتعرّض المجموعات لخطر كبير بفعل الكوارث، مثل الفيضانات والحرائق والزلازل. ولكن لا ينبغي لنا أن نقلّل من شأن احتمال التدهور البطيء للمجموعات نتيجة الاستخدام السيء والإصلاحات غير المناسبة.

قد تقتني أنت أو عائلتك بعض الكتب والوثائق القديمة، التي ترغب في الحفاظ عليها للأجيال المقبلة. إليك بعض النصائح السريعة في هذا المجال: لا تستخدم أبدًا الشريط اللاصق؛ توخّى إزالة الغبار عن المواد بلطف وبشكل دوري؛ تأكّد من تخزين هذه المواد في غرفة مكيّفة وفي مكان لا يتعرّض لخطر تسرب المياه.

تحليل المواد

 

Material Analysis

تحتوي وحدة الحفظ والصيانة في مكتبة قطر الوطنية على مختبر حديث ومتطور مزود بآلات وأجهزة قادرة على تحليل جودة مواد الوثائق والمطبوعات.

ويُتيح استخدام التقنيات الحديثة في التحليل، التي لا تُسبب التلف للوثائق والمخطوطات، الحصول على الكثير من المعلومات المرتبطة بالأوجه المادية للكتب، كما أن هذه المعلومات مفيدة جداً لتعزيز وتطبيق استراتيجيات الحفظ والصيانة ودعم قرارات المحافظة على  المواد وزيادة المعرفة المرتبطة بدراسات الوثائق والمخطوطات.

مركز الإفلا الإقليمي للدول العربية

IFLA PAC Logo

تم الإعلان رسمياً عن برنامج الإفلا الاستراتيجي للحفظ والصيانة خلال المؤتمر السنوي للاتحاد الدولي لجمعيات ومؤسسات المكتبات (إفلا) في نيروبي في عام 1984 لتركيز الجهود على قضايا المحافظة على مواد المكتبات والبدء بالتعاون الدولي في هذا المجال.


واتساقاً مع رسالة مكتبة قطر الوطنية في المحافظة على التراث الثقافي لأجيال المستقبل، تؤكد المكتبة أهمية التعاون الدولي في هذا المجال. ومنذ عام 2015  أصبح معمل الصيانة بالمكتبة المركز الإقليمي لصيانة المواد والمحافظة عليها، المُعتمد من اتحاد الإفلا، للدول العربية ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط عموماً.

ويكمن دور مركزنا في دعم المكتبات العربية من خلال سلسلة من الأنشطة والمبادرات لتشجيع ونشر وتطوير الممارسات الخاصة بصيانة المواد والمحافظة عليها، ويتضمن ذلك ما يلي:

•    إنشاء شبكة دولية لتبادل المعلومات والمعرفة
•    دعم ومساعدة المكتبات العربية في قضايا صيانة موادها
•    توفير ونشر مواد معرفية في مجال صيانة المواد والمحافظة عليها باللغتين العربية والانجليزية
•    تطوير خطط أفضل لمواجهة الكوارث
•    تنظيم دورات تدريبية وورش عمل ولقاءات في مجال الصيانة والمحافظة على مواد المكتبات
•    ترجمة أدلة الإفلا والوثائق الأخرى المتعلقة بصيانة المواد والمحافظ عليها إلى اللغة العربية

مصادر ومراجع

فيما يلي بعض الوثائق والمواد المتعلقة بصيانة مواد المكتبات والمحافظة عليها:

مطبوعات

فيديوهات

 

تواصل مع مركز الإفلا الإقليمي بمكتبة قطر الوطنية

للمزيد من المعلومات، خاصة إذا كنت من إحدى الدول التي يُغطيها المركز الإقليمي لصيانة مواد المكتبات والمحافظة عليها للبلدان العربية ومنطقة الشرق الأوسط، وكنت مهتماً بأحد أنشطتنا، نرجو عدم التردد في التواصل مع:

السيد ستيفان إيپيغ
مدير إدارة صيانة المواد والمحافظة عليها،
مكتبة قطر الوطنية

هاتف:  8147 4454  974+
ص.ب:5825، الدوحة - قطر
بريد إلكتروني[email protected]

احصل على نصيحة أخصائي الصيانة بمكتبة قطر الوطنية

انقر الرابط أدناه للحصول على المشورة من أخصائي الصيانة بمكتبة قطر الوطنية فيما يتعلق بالمحافظة على موادك التراثية وصيانتها:

تواصل مع أخصائي الصيانة